new things in old places.

Standard

So the house we moved into is late 1800s, early 1900s.  It was definitely built before 1908, when Alton’s place where they kept records burnt down.  That much we know.  Its got lots of charm and it’s definitely a livable fixer upper.

Thankfully the previous owners didn’t have terrible taste!  Melissa and Nathan are actually friends of ours, we say their son Benton is going to marry our Frankie one day.  They are only 3 weeks apart in age.  (and totally adorable too!)  Thanks to them the house isn’t  tan, taupe and beige in every room!  I feel like those three colors haunt me.  In every house or apartment I’ve ever lived in, its been those colors. 

While I love the color in our bedroom, I think I am going to stick to the hue, but go slightly darker.  Make it more of a green instead of blue.  It’s a bluish-green turquoise-y type color.  REALLY pretty, but I’m not sure I’m going to be able to match it to paint a few spots on the wall that don’t have the color.  While I don’t plan on doing a huge decorating plan in there, I do plan on having a semi-theme.  I am getting these for the room to revolve around.  But also, I think I want to put these or these on a shelf in our room, or use them on my dresser as a “catch-all” type thing.  Now on to find a comforter that will look good.  I currently have one that would actually kind of match, but it has a bird theme on it.  So eventually it would annoy me.  So I think I want to find a chocolate-brown one. Maybe in down?  The hunt continues!

Maybe I should start a pintrest board for these.  Onto another room!

Leave a Reply

